Howdy

So, it’s the end of my first week in Hong Kong and people keep telling me that I should start a blog. I dunno who’ll read it or, more importantly, what the Hell I’ll write, but I’ve buckled under peer pressure. So here goes…

My first few days consisted of applying for a Chinese ID card, opening a bank account and trying to find somewhere to live. Accommodation in HK is VERY fucking expensive and the standard varies massively… I’ve looked at some real shit holes and some really cool places. At the moment, I’m weighing up living near work in the centre of Wanchai or moving out towards the sea where it’s quieter and you get more space for your money but it means I’ll have to commute for 45 mins to work. As anyone who knows me properly will testify, I’ve been very lucky with my commutes to work over the last few years. Anything over 90 seconds is just far too much!

My bosses partner is a helicopter pilot and he took me on an hour long flight over HK on Sunday. It was pretty spectacular. I’ve added a few pics.

I’ve decided to create a Spotify playlist to go with each blog. That way, if I have nothing interesting to say, I can still post something worthwhile. Here’s some stuff I was listening to on the flight over…

That’s enough for now.

Can somebody let me know when the Tories have fucked off and it’s safe to come home, please. Thank you.

See you soon.

AJG x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Howdy

  1. Zoe says:

    Hello there

    Nice to hear you arrived safely.
    Doing a blog is a good idea, saves you having to respond to everyone whom are asking “how are you”
    Happy house hunting. I look forward to more blogs.

    Take care
    Zoe l’dodd xx

  2. Samba says:

    Alright Andy

  3. Samba says:

    Alright Andy!
    You probably don’t remember me, but back in Manc many moons ago, I did gig reviews for Sandman, and ran Guestlist with Hannah Dornford May.

    Wholly keep the blog up. There are almost no good “I’ve fucked off from the UK to HK” blogs. I’m hoping to blag a similar move at some point so I’ll be reading 🙂

  4. Sam – Of course I remember! How are you?

    What are you up to at the mo? Is Guestlist still going?

    A
    🙂

    • Samba says:

      I don’t know, you’ll have to ask Hannah! I left it quite early on due to Uni commitments. I’m now in London working as a computer geek for HSBC. I’m trying to get them to send me to HK for a bit so I’ll give you a shout if I succeed :).

      I can’t believe you locked yourself in the toilet. GENIUS. I’d have panic’d so much more than you did I think…

  5. Pingback: Touristy stuff with PL | hongkonggilmore

Leave a comment