Parks, peaks and Champions League

Happy Easter. I hope you all ate my share of easter chocolate.

It’s getting really fucking hot here!

I’ve started to do bits of touristy stuff on my days off. I’ve discovered that there are loads of really nice parks in HK, one with a small zoo and another (Hong Kong Park) with a pretty cool aviary. I also visited all the museums in Tsim Sha Tsui during ‘free museum Wednesday’s’ – It coincided with my day off… Honest! I’m not just a tight arse. The Space Museum is rather cool.

I also went on the Peak Tram, which was cool. Well, when I say I went on the Peak tram, I’m kind of lying really. I did go up to the peak, but not on the tram. It was a really hot Sunday evening when we went and the queue for the tram was ginormous. So… we got a taxi up and a bus back down – The bus ride down was one of the scariest/stomach churning bus rides I’ve ever been on and, yes, that includes the 42 and 192 bus routes in Manchester!

But anyway, I digress, the top of the Peak enables you to look down over HK. It’s an absolutely amazing view. As soon as we got to the top, it started chucking it down so we didn’t stay outside for very long. I want to go back up the Peak during the day at some stage.

The fact that the time back home has now caught up by an hour is making it (slightly – the Champions League games are still a 2.45am kick off here) easier to catch more of the football. Obviously, we won’t talk about the FA Cup game! My little brother, Ben, was chosen to help carry out the Champions League flag before the United/Chelsea semi at OT.  I was proud/jealous and slightly annoyed… He supports City! I suppose the occasion gave him a chance to watch Champions League football for the first and, probably, only time in a while (Spurs for forth place!). For those of you who don’t know, I have four younger brothers and they’re all very strange. One doesn’t like football, two support City and the youngest, Matthew, supports Liverpool. I’m not sure what went wrong with them (especially Matt). I blame the parents.

Sandbox are playing the Sounds from the Other City festival on 1st May. GO AND SEE THEM!

Myself, Locko (Sandbox axe-wielder) and Beetrootrabbit have started a new hash-tag game on Twitter – #bandsihavenotimefor – Join in with a band you don’t like… It’s much fun! I’ve been instructed by Locko to do a separate blog with my list, so I will… Soon.

What else… Oh, Record Store Day… I missed it this year. Gutted. No shops here were taking part. I’m also gutted about missing the Camden Crawl next weekend. But, I’ve managed to start catching up with Corrie online, which is a result!

No playlist (again). I really need to sort Spotify

Frankie and The Heartstrings – Hunger… It’s an ace album

REM – Collapse into Now… Their best album since ‘Up’. It’s ace, ace, ace.

Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American… Forgot just how good this album is

Feeder – Echo Park… I can’t believe this album was released 10 YEARS ago (this week!)

Maximo Park – Our Earthly Pleasures

The Cribs – Live at the Ritz

Pulled Apart By Horses – PABH

Happy Easter

AJG

P.S. Tar to Laura and Chris for the mail! It was a nice surprise. And Greg for the CD! 🙂

x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Parks, peaks and Champions League

  1. Pingback: Touristy stuff with PL | hongkonggilmore

Leave a comment