Overdue update

It’s been a while since my last update because I’ve been so busy. Em’s been here for two weeks and then Sam and his lady, Laura, were in HK for a week to scope the place out in preparation for their permanent move here in August!

Em arrived in the middle of May and I finally managed to get some proper time off work. I had to work for some of her stay, but those days allowed her to go off on her own to explore HK, look and buildings ‘n’ stuff and relax… She works more than I do.

It was great to see her and to get some time off which enabled us to do all the touristy stuff – A majority of which I’d put off doing since I arrived due to lack of time and not wanting to do the same things over and over again! We went to Mainland China, Macau and saw parts of HK that I’d not been to before.

I’ll do a proper blog about our adventures when I have time to sit down, type it all up and go through the pics. Hopefully over the next few days.

Em arrived bearing important stuff like Walkers crisps and Twinings teabags. I also found out that a few weeks before she was due to fly here, she had contacted people back home via phone/txt/Facebook to arrange for people to send stuff over with her. It was overwhelming and an amazing thing that she had planned. Once again, K excelled herself with her card making skills… As soon as I get to make the cake, I’ll send you a picture!

Some people missed the deadline for Em leaving and posted stuff themselves… I know Anita ‘doesn’t really do email’ but she mentioned that she looks at the blog – Thanks for the DVD’s. I will watch soon! 🙂

When Em first arrived, it felt a bit strange… I was able to hold a conversation with somebody and not have to repeat myself or think about how I was going to have to re-phrase a sentence after I’d said it the first time. Now Em has gone home, it feels weird… When she was here, everything felt ‘normal’ – Whatever the fuck normal is.

My flat feels empty again now and it’s taking me a while to adjust. In ten days, my sister, Lauren, will be here for a week en route to New Zealand. I can’t wait to see her 🙂

Sam and Laura arrived last weekend and have left to head back to England tonight. In eight weeks time, they will be in HK permanently. I can’t wait! I’d not met Laura before. In fact, if truth be told, I think I’ve only met Sam once before – He can correct me if I’m wrong. We did discover that we had been at virtually the same gigs throughout 2010 – Mostly Pulled Apart By Horses gigs!

Anyway, Laura is also very cool and I’m looking forward to them being out here. Sam and I are continuing our plans for math rock domination and he’s already sent some demos over to me via email. We’ve found out that we all like playing squash – Bonus! We had a good couple of night out. We even went for tea and toast!

I’ve been listening to the following:

Pulled Apart By Horses – PABH

The Answering Machine – Been listening to everything. It’s v. sad news about them splitting up 😦

The Clash – Sandinista!

Girl Talk – Night Ripper

The Jellys – Welcome to Our World

Touristy update soon…

AJG x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overdue update

  1. em says:

    Come on update!

Leave a comment