Turning 30…

As people keep reminding me, I’m a number of updates behind. I’m working on them this weekend, I promise! I’ve done a lot over the last month so there’s loads to write about!

It was a public holiday here today – to celebrate the anniversary of HK being handed back over from Britain to the Chinese – I slept in and then headed to the beach for a few hours.

This weekend is my last in my 20s. I turn 30 on Sunday. To be honest, I’m not quite sure what to make of it.

I didn’t plan to spend my 30th birthday, living on my own in a foreign country. My life wasn’t supposed to be like this. I feel like I should be seeing friends and family and having a party with everyone there.

I was in Abersoch for my birthday last year, watching Feeder (quelle surprise!) and Maximo Park. It was a strange, but enjoyable weekend. A party for my 30th was even discussed. I didn’t realise how different things would be less then a year later.

I’ve been wondering if I’m missing out on too much stuff and if I should be back at home at the moment – I don’t know if I necessarily mean for good, I just mean that I’m wondering if I should have come for a visit.

Like me, most of my mates turn 30 this year. I’ve already missed a load (Ian, Danny, Righini, Andy, John) and there’s more to come over the next few weeks (Craddy, Dave, Locko), plus Locko is about to become a dad!

I really wish I’d been around more whilst Locko has been planning for the arrival. I can tell he’s (obviously) crazy excited about it. He’s the first of my closest friends to have a baby and I want to make sure I’m home for a visit at some point before he or she (I’m convinced it’ll be a boy!) is crawling and too big for a proper hug.

Over the last week or so, I’ve been receiving cards and packages in the post. It’s been very hard not to rip them open as soon as they arrive. I’ve managed to resist though – Not long to go.

The weather has been mad here over the last week or two. It’s still stupidly hot, but the rain has been unbelievable. There was a huge thunderstorm on Wednesday night. The lightning was lighting up the whole sky. I filmed a bit from my window. It should work if you click here.

I should sign off as the tennis will be starting soon. I’ve managed to find a really good online feed for the tennis so have been engrossed over the last few days. I don’t think Murray will win tonight. Tonight will be his annual decline from Brit hero to textbook Scottish loser. I might be wrong and he may win… I doubt it though!

A proper update by Monday, I promise.

AJG (29 years, 363 days old)

x

Spotify is still off limits (sigh) but I’ve started using Last.fm again. Anyway, I’ve been listening to the following shizzle:

David Bowie – Reality

Orange Juice – Coals to Newcastle boxset

Oh No Ono – Yes

Pulled Apart By Horse – Live at Leeds

Noel Gallagher – Live at the Royal Albert Hall

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment